B. Appendix 18 YWPA

The Young Women in Public Affairs Program (YWPA)

The program was established in 1990. The program goal is to encourage more young women to participate in public affairs by recognizing a commitment to the volunteer sector, evidence of volunteer leadership, achievements and a dedication to the advancement of the status of women.

Since the inception of the program until 2014, Zonta has awarded 721 awards totaling USD 621,750 to 629 young women representing 51 countries.

Young Women in Public Affairs Award, D-13 winners (During the first years of the program 1991-97, no clubs from D-13 participated. There is no statistical information for the years 1998 through 2000. In the period 2001-06, the number of participating clubs was two each year. From 2008 until 2014, a handful of clubs have forwarded applications each year. 2009 was the year with most applications; the number of applications that year was twelve). The resent years the program has become well-known. In 2017 we received 7 applications of which several did not fulfill the demands.

- 1998 Stine Berner, Lejre, Denmark, ZC Roskilde
- 1999 Marie Ildvedsen, Denmark
- 2000 Indré Mackeviciúte, Vilnius, Lithuania, ZC Vilnius
- 2001 Ida Bigum Nielsen, Aabenraa, Denmark, ZC Sønderborg
- 2002 Jette Christensen, Egersund, Norway, ZC Egersund
- 2003 Marianne Larsen, Løjt Kirkeby, Denmark, ZC Sønderborg
- 2004 Hafdís Sunna Hermannsdottír, Isafjordur, Iceland, D-13 and International winner, ZC Isafjordur
- 2005 Line Seglem Larsen, Hafrsfjord, Norway, D-13 and International winner
- 2006 Linn Therese Sævik, Leinoy, Ålesund , Norway, ZC Ålesund
- 2007 Sunniva Østergaard Sandbukt, Hørsholm, Denmark
- 2008 Gwenn Gruener-Widing, Struer, Denmark
- 2009 Ida Sørensen, Rørvig, Denmark D-13 and International winner ZC Nordvestsjælland
- 2010 Agné Mankeviciute, Alytus, Lithuania, ZC Alytus
- 2011 Amalie Gyde Larsen, Sydals, Denmark, ZC Sønderborg
- 2012 Annemette Simone Møller, Sorø, Denmark, ZC Vestsjælland
- 2013 Sidsel Høgsgaard Andersen, Egå, Denmark, ZC Aarhus
- 2014 Rikke Regitze Nøhr Nielsen, København, Denmark, ZC Copenhagen I
- 2015 Sofie Amalie Poulsen, Denmark, ZC Copenhagen I
- 2016 Thit Hammerich Clausen, Denmark, ZC Vestsjaelland
- 2017 Anna Rebien Lund, Denmark, ZC Sonderborg