Board member - 2

Dorte Olesen





Style: "Farver 080909_A"

Berit Birkelund


Aase Schmidt






Thora Akadottir


Elin Hetlang Mong

2018-2020 Board

Governor: Dorte Olesen, ZC Copenhagen I, Denmark

Dorte Olesen was born in 1948. She has a MSc degree in Mathematics and physics (University of Copenhagen), PhD and later Doctor of Science degree in mathematics. In her professional life she has been a University Professor of mathematics since 1980, Director General at the Danish IT-Centre for Research and Education 1989- 2011, since 2011 also Executive Adviser at the Technical University of Denmark. She was the Chair of the Board of Roskilde University 2004-08, and is presently a Board Member at the Politiken Foundation and GEANT Association. Dorte has been a member of ZC Copenhagen I since 1990, held club positions as Board member, Vice-President and President and Committee chair, in Area 01 chair of the PR-committee and Scholarship-committee 2011-2015. Dorte has served as Lt. Governor 2016-2018.



Lt. Governor: Jane Bordal, ZC Oslo I, Norway


Treasurer: Ellen Skartvedt, ZC Stavanger, Norway


Secretary and Webmaster: Berit Birkelund, ZC Naestved, Denmark

Berit Birkelund was born in 1959. For the last 30 years she have worked as a consulting engineer in a private company, where she have organized and managed an environmental department, which is under permanent development. Berit is concerned mainly with the industrial environment, contaminated soil and groundwater, and mining and quarrying – but do also have great skills in working environment and indoor climate. Today, the environmental topic is a part in every construction projects. Berit became a member of the Zonta Club of Næstved in 2004. She was elected to the club board as Vice Clubpresident in 2007 and she was the Clubpresident for the biennium 2008-2010. For the years 2008-2010 she  was also appointed as the Secretary for the Area 01 Board and as the webmaster of Area 01. She was Area Director 2012-2014. She has been elected treasurer for District 13 for the bienniums 2014-2016 and 2016-2018.



AD 01 Aase Schmidt, ZC Naestved, Denmark

Aase Schmidt was born in 1951 and graduated as a teacher in 1975. She worked as a teacher until 1992 which also included a period as a member of the Danish Volunteer Service in Zambia where she was coordinator in a Nutrition Project. From 1992- 2003 she was head teacher in 2 different Public Schools and from 2003 to her retirement in 2015 she was Head of School Department in Naestved Municipality. She had a degree in Pedagogic Leadership in 2001 and was manager of 3 structural reforms in Naestved from 2006 -2014. She now works occasionally as a Consultant in recruiting leaders and in counselling. Aase has been a member of Zonta Club Naestved since 2004 and has been Club President and member of different committees of her Club. She has served as Vice AD in Zonta Denmark 2016-18.







AD 02: Rasa Birutiene, ZC Vilnius, Lithuania



AD 03 Thora Akadottir, ZC Akureyri Iceland

Thora Akadottir was born in1954. Her education is a nurse, graduated 1979 and earned her master´s degree in Public Health in the year 2012 from the Nordic School of Public Health NHV, Göteborg in Sweden. Thora has worked the last 25 years as a vice Nursing Director and a Human Resource Manager at the Hospital in Akureyri Iceland. She retired from that job 2015 and is now working as a nurse in Norway. From the year 1998 – 2010 she was active in the town politics in Akureyri and served as a board member of the Town Council and as a chairman of the Town Council for 5 years, as well as taking part in several committees of the Town. Thora has been a member of the Akureyri Zontaclub since 1991 and has been a club secretary, vice president, president and a member of different committees of her club. In her personal life, Thora is married and has three grown up boys with families and 7 grandchildren.




AD 04: Elin Hetland Mong, ZC Vigrestad og omegn, Norway